RSS Feed

What is a locavore?

Good place to start. I believe the word is credited to a San Fran group and basically means someone that buys/eats local food (farmers’ market, local produce, etc.). I’m pushing it a little farther to mean an interest in all things local–after all, I “consume” lots of local things: culture, food, music, art, air–I’m sure you get the point. So I plan to talk local, but I’m sure that will lead to other places/tangents/rabbit trails; we’ll see. Never having blogged before (I’ve responded to many posts, but never taken responsibility for one), I don’t know what to expect, even from myself.

Feel free to comment (unless you’re just being mean; in that case, think before you blast me, please!)

About ltbrwnhare

A real Ashevillain, from the fabled town of Asheville, NC. There aren't too many of us "from here" any more, but don't ask about the secret handshake. Few people know I blog; they think I work for corporate America. I do. Both. There's probably a secret handshake for that, too. You can think of me as a "locavore," if you like: someone who consumes local food and culture. I'm not just local, though--I like finding out interesting stuff from all over the place, traveling, tasting, reading, writing fiction (actually, I write non-fiction--I just don't let my family read it and get mad at me for spilling the beans. There are some pretty funky beans to spill, sometimes, but that's just a fact of life in the South...), and lots of other things. If I think of them, maybe I'll blog about them.

2 responses »

  1. Finally got around to sitting down and reading your blog, great job! I’ve actually been reading it for hours, you’re very good at holding a reader’s interest. Now I can follow all your updates!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

