RSS Feed

Planning My Re-Tirement

Posted on

Did you know that tires come with an expiration date? That your vehicle’s expensive rubber shoes can actually go out of date? Me, neither.

Confession: I have a teeny little Matchbox-sized convertible that I drive in the summer. Saw it on a used car lot in 2005 and fell in love with the expression in its headlights. “Pick me! Pick me!” it shouted, revving for my attention and flexing its sparkling yellow micah topcoat. Needless to say, I was hooked.

Because it’s so teeny, however, and so perfectly-suited for going “topless” (that’s convertible-speak for driving with the top down), I don’t drive it much in top-up weather, ergo, I don’t put too many miles on it. As of 7 am this morning, my “smiley-face-on-wheels” (as it was dubbed by a friend) still had its six-year-old original tires.

One of my brothers-in-law (I have two) looked at my tires recently and mentioned I might need to think about getting new ones. Okay…but as much as I love new shoes for me, I don’t know much about new shoes for my car. Luckily, the nice folks at The Oil Can were happy to help!

That’s the real point of this post: the nice folks at The Oil Can, which is located at 243 Sardis Road (phone: 828-670-1645), not far from the intersection of Sardis and Sandhill. Owners Kendall and Karen are as nice, as friendly, as down-to-earth, and as honest as people can be. The Oil Can specializes in things like oil changes, inspections, and new tires. When you take your vehicle there, you know you’re putting it in the hands (or perhaps the pits?) of the experts. They take you and your vehicle seriously and they make sure you’re well-informed and satisfied with the results.

Next post: more from The Oil Can. And believe me, they can!

About ltbrwnhare

A real Ashevillain, from the fabled town of Asheville, NC. There aren't too many of us "from here" any more, but don't ask about the secret handshake. Few people know I blog; they think I work for corporate America. I do. Both. There's probably a secret handshake for that, too. You can think of me as a "locavore," if you like: someone who consumes local food and culture. I'm not just local, though--I like finding out interesting stuff from all over the place, traveling, tasting, reading, writing fiction (actually, I write non-fiction--I just don't let my family read it and get mad at me for spilling the beans. There are some pretty funky beans to spill, sometimes, but that's just a fact of life in the South...), and lots of other things. If I think of them, maybe I'll blog about them.

2 responses »

  1. And do you know how to figure out the “born on date” for your tires?

    Look on the side for a raised block with four digits; it’s usually next to the U.S. DOT tire identification number. The first two indicate the week of its manufacture, and the last two are for the year. For example, 1702 would indicate the tire was manufactured in April, 2002. Prior to 2000, there were only three digits, with the last one indicating the year.

    And congrats on the new “shoes” and being out from under “garage arrest”!

    Satasha

    Reply
  2. You are so right, which is why it’s a good idea to check the birthday of your tires–you never know if they’re hiding their real age!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

