RSS Feed

The Thrill Is NOT Gone…

Posted on

Generally speaking, if you’re 82 years old, have diabetes, and bad knees, you’re probably not accepting tour dates and creating play lists for your next show.

Unless you’re B.B. King, that is. Just caught his act at Biltmore this evening, and though his knees now keep him seated during his performances, other than that, I think he has more energy than I do at less than half his age!

King and long-time companion Lucille* sound as fine as ever.  She never leaves his side, and he’s got a hand on her even when he’s not asking her to speak to the audience. Together, they’ve got the best seat in the house and they keep the audience in thrall: pulling us all the way down to the bottom of the Mississippi Delta blues, then sending us spiraling skyward as the saints go marching in.

He’s funny and graceful and grateful all at the same time, and well aware that he’s been bringing on the blues for more than 60 years. King is quite the storyteller, often changing the tempo of the show to include bits and pieces of his lifetime. He spins his stories against a blues backdrop that walks along in time with his words and the occasional murmured comment from Lucille. (I suppose you could say she’s “fretful” when he’s not paying her enough attention.)

It was a capacity crowd tonight, and I think everyone admired B.B. King’s stamina as much as his talent. He may be an octagenarian, but he’s also a living legend, and he makes both look easy. And even though I think Lucille is a good bit younger than he is, King is still keeping her–and his fans–more than satisfied.

*Lucille is B.B. King’s guitar, and he’s been faithful to her throughout a significant portion of his career.

About ltbrwnhare

A real Ashevillain, from the fabled town of Asheville, NC. There aren't too many of us "from here" any more, but don't ask about the secret handshake. Few people know I blog; they think I work for corporate America. I do. Both. There's probably a secret handshake for that, too. You can think of me as a "locavore," if you like: someone who consumes local food and culture. I'm not just local, though--I like finding out interesting stuff from all over the place, traveling, tasting, reading, writing fiction (actually, I write non-fiction--I just don't let my family read it and get mad at me for spilling the beans. There are some pretty funky beans to spill, sometimes, but that's just a fact of life in the South...), and lots of other things. If I think of them, maybe I'll blog about them.

One response »

  1. He’s playing in our area tonight but cannot find anywhere any info on who is opening for him. There must be an opening act – he usually only plays for 45min. Christopher Newport University Ferguson Center. Do you know how to find out? I’ve called the box office they don’t think there is one. Nothing on the website.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

